Comrades Event Information

Event Information


May 31, 2015 at 5:30am


ENTRY FEE:  Entry is open until November 30, 2014 or until 23,000 spaces are filled at   The total cost is 2120 ZAR (approx. $215 USD) for those without a timing chip.


If you are interested in a tour of the course, please make sure to book this during the entry process for Friday, May 29th.  The cost is 200 ZAR per person (approx. $20 USD).  


  BUS TICKETS: Bus tickets from Pietermaritzburg to the start in Durban and from the finish in  Pietermaritzburg back to Durban after the race will be available for sale at the Expo - Busses Ticket Kiosks prior to the race. No tickets will be available on race day.


The route travels 89K from Pietermaritzburg to Durban in the even numbered years and in the opposite direction in the odd numbered years.  There is a total drop or rise of 2,000 feet.  For 2015 it is the UP year!



The cut-off time is 12 hours and strictly upheld.

Conditions are usually perfect for fast times with expected temperatures ranging from 50 to 65 degrees. Humidity is low.


 All entrants must comply with the Comrades Marathon qualifying criteria. If you do not supply         qualifying details with your entry, you must submit your club name, license number and qualifying details by no later than 4 May 2015. This can be done either by email or contacting the CMA office. Qualifying details will not be accepted at registration. Failure to meet the qualifying criteria will result in your entry being rejected. No seeding upgrades will be accepted after 4 May 2015 and particularly at registration. Therefore, please note that you will not be able to participate and your details will be removed from our database, which means that you will not receive a goodie bag or runners t-shirt. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES WILL REFUNDS BE MADE.



All entrants must qualify by completing an officially recognized race, technically approved by the local athletics federation, according to the following table during the period of 1 August 2014 to 4 May 2015.


DISTANCE OF RACE             


42.2 km    

5 hrs.00 min

48 - 50 km

6 hrs.00 min

52 - 54 km

6 hrs.30 min

56 km

7 hrs.00 min

60 km

7 hrs.40 min            

64 km

8 hrs.20 min            

80 km

10 hrs.40 min            

89 km

12 hrs.00 min            

100 km

13 hrs.30 min   



   The race is run from gun to gun?. The cut-off times for these points will be confirmed in the final race instructions. The CMA reserves the right to alter these positions. Runners will be required to board a rescue bus and be transported to the finish venue should they not have reached the cut-off points within the specified time. Athletes MUST retire once ordered to do so by an official medical delegate or medical staff. [IAAF Rule 240 8(c)]. Failing to comply with this rule will lead to disqualification. The cut-off points will be clearly sign posted and do not relate to the location of any timing mats or other markers along the route.


CUT-OFF POINT            


Cato Ridge - N3 Subway       

 5:10  (10h40)

Drummond (Halfway)

 6:10  (11h40)

Winston Park

 8:30  (14h00)

St Johns Avenue

10:00  (15h30)

Sherwood 45th Cutting

11:20  (16h50)